Christian Unity — The Next Step

'That They May All Be One'

by Fr. Kevin E. Mackin OFM



Book Details

Language : English
Publication Date : 3/31/2020

Format : E-Book
Dimensions : N/A
Page Count : 92
ISBN : 9781973687184
Format : Softcover
Dimensions : 5x8
Page Count : 92
ISBN : 9781973687191

About the Book

Catholics, Orthodox and Protestants have in many ways moved from diatribe to dialogue. Conversations among theologians have achieved significant progress on many issues in the half century since the Catholic Church entered the ecumenical movement in earnest.

In CHRISTIAN UNITY – THE NEXT STEP ‘THAT THEY MAY ALL BE ONE’ Kevin E. Mackin, OFM, a popular priest and former college president and professor, delves into and shares his studies on recent Church history and theology, and posits that the time is ripe for more real-world Christian collaboration and service, for further internal reform, and for a third ecumenical Council.

About the Author

Father Kevin E. Mackin, OFM, is a member of the Franciscan community at St. Anthony’s Friary in St. Petersburg, Florida, serves at St. Raphael Catholic Church, and is a chaplain for the St. Petersburg Police Department. He’s also a member of the special works board for the Society of St. Vincent de Paul.

A priest in the Order of Friars Minor, Province of the Most Holy Name of Jesus, Fr. Kevin, born in Brooklyn, New York, served at Christ the King Seminary, a graduate theological school, as president-rector; at Siena College on the faculty and as president; as director of development/public relations for his Franciscan Province; and as president of Mount Saint Mary College, where he also served as a professor. He has taught Christian Theological Tradition, Catholic Tradition, Introduction to Biblical Studies, Modern Search for Jesus, Contemporary Catholic Thought, Contemporary Protestant Thought, and The Gospels. Fr. Kevin has also published articles and books, including Get Thee behind Me, Satan: Rejecting Evil (WestBow Press, 2019), Enjoying God’s Gifts (WestBow Press, 2018), Integrity: Living God’s Word (WestBow Press, 2018), and A Spirituality for Sunday People (WestBow Press, 2017). Highlights of his reflections are at